Union des Comores - translation to french
Online Dictionary

Union des Comores - translation to french

ISO 3166-1:KM; Union of Comoros; Comores; The Comoros; Comoro Isles; Union of the Comoros; Comoros Republic; Islamic Federal Republic of Comoros; Law of the Comoros; Penal system of Comoros; جزر القمر; Juzur al-Qumur; Union des Comores; الإتّحاد القمريّ; Al-Ittiḥād al-Qumuriyy; Federal and Islamic Republic of Comoros; State of Comoros; Legal system of Comoros; Culture of the Comoros; The Union of Comoros; Archipel des Comores; Komoren; Republic of the Comoros; Federal and Islamic Republic of the Comoros; Federal Islamic Republic of The Comores; Federal Islamic Republic of the Comores; Islamic Republic of the Comoros; Udzima wa Komori; Culture of Comoros; Legal system of the Comoros; Court system of the Comoros; Judiciary of the Comoros; List of newspapers in the Comoros; Territory of Comoros; Biodiversity of the Comoros; Comorian culture; Political culture of the Comoros
  • A view of Domoni, [[Anjouan]] including mosque
  • An 1808 map refers to the islands as "Camora".
  • French map of the Comores, 1747
  • A map of the Comoros
  • A proportional representation of Comoros' economy, 2019
  • Comoros diver with fish
  • A large [[dhow]] with [[lateen]] sail rigs
  • [[Flag of the Comoros]] (1963 to 1975)
  • [[Flag of the Comoros]] (1975 to 1978)
  • Grande Comore landscape
  • GDP per capita development, since 1950
  • [[Ikililou Dhoinine]], [[President of the Comoros]] from 2011 to 2016
  • Villagers in Bangwa Kuuni, Ngazidja
  • A public square, Moroni, 1908
  • A mosque in Moroni
  • Moroni]], capital of the Comoros, with the port and Badjanani Mosque
  • A [[vanilla]] plantation

Union des Comores      
Union of the Comoros, Comores, country composed of three islands located in southern Africa off the coast of Mozambique


union catalogue
¦ noun a list of the combined holdings of several libraries.



The Comoros, officially the Union of the Comoros, is an independent country made up of three islands in Southeastern Africa, located at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean. Its capital and largest city is Moroni. The religion of the majority of the population, and the official state religion, is Sunni Islam. Comoros proclaimed its independence from France on 6 July 1975. A member of the Arab League, it is the only country in the Arab world which is entirely in the Southern Hemisphere. It is a member state of the African Union, the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, and the Indian Ocean Commission. The country has three official languages: Shikomori, French and Arabic.

The sovereign state consists of three major islands and numerous smaller islands, all of the volcanic Comoro Islands with the exception of Mayotte. Mayotte voted against independence from France in a referendum in 1974, and continues to be administered by France as an overseas department. France has vetoed United Nations Security Council resolutions that would affirm Comorian sovereignty over the island. Mayotte became an overseas department and a region of France in 2011 following a referendum which was passed overwhelmingly.

At 1,861 km2 (719 sq mi), the Comoros is the fourth-smallest African country by area. Its population is estimated at 850,886 residents as of 2019.

The Comoros was likely first settled by Austronesian/Malagasy peoples, followed by Bantu speakers from East Africa, and seafaring Arab traders. It became part of the French colonial empire during the 19th century, before its independence in 1975. It has experienced more than 20 coups or attempted coups, with various heads of state assassinated. Along with this constant political instability, it has one of the worst levels of income inequality of any nation, and ranks in the worst quartile on the Human Development Index. As of 2008, about half the population lived below the international poverty line of US$1.25 a day.